Be Still + Know

Be still, and know that I am God! I am exalted among the nations; I am exalted in the earth.

Psalm 46:10 has been the refrain of my life.  For in all my busyness, work, education, recreation and even church related activities… I need to pause and know.  While I know in my very core of the God of creation, the God of incarnation, and the God of presence who blows in and through my life, I often get so caught-up in the selfish stuff of life that I do not pause to reflect, give thanks and exalt our awesome God.

Yet when I read, hear, or sing the words ‘be still and know,’ I am drawn to Sabbath, to listen and spend time with God.  In those moments spent in the majesty and mystery of our creator, redeemer and sustainer, I may not know fully, but most fully feel the presence of God.  I pray for the gift of stillness, to be able to let go of my schedule and stress that I may know, experience and share God with others.  In the words of the simple Iona hymn:

Be still and know that I am God… I am the one who call you my friends…I am the one whose love never fails… I am the one who says ‘follow me’…  Be still and know that I am God and there is none beside me. 

Leave a Reply

